Posted on

This Post Brought To You By The Letter “S”

Skating… scrimmage… shins… stops… Sherlock… how essy!

There was scrimmage yesterday. I skated in it. And finished! That’s a first since… October, maybe? God, that feels like forever ago. No wonder I feel so derby-weird.

Physical therapy is a wonderful thing. By the end of scrimmage yesterday, I was still feeling good. Tired, yes, but there’s nothing wrong with tired. My shins didn’t much like the warm-up, but with good stretching, massaging, and visualizing efforts, they made it through the scrimmage like champs. I even jammed. Twice. And got lead jammer. Twice.

Did I mention that we did the 25-in-5 after a bunch of stops and knee slides the day before the scrimmage? Because we did. I got it in five flat, which is slower than my best time, but at least I was able to do it. I feel like I have a very long way to go before I have my pre-shinjury confidence levels back, but I’m still skating, and that’s something.

So. Good derby weekend. Lots of skating. And now, a little GPOY:

(P.S. for my fellow Sherlockians out there: YOU GUISE! Series three! Sets, readings, grapes: do you have feels? Discuss!)

4 responses to “This Post Brought To You By The Letter “S”

  1. Alison

    Way to rock the scrimmage. I’m sorry to have missed skating with you.

  2. Yay! Lead jammer both times?! Nice! I would have loved to seen that because I know hard you’d been work to get back from shitty shin-dom. So happy for you darling. Miss your face like crazy.

    • Jess! ⋅

      I was really lucky to have good blockers–you know I didn’t get lead by being fast. 😉 My face misses your face, and my rest-of-me misses your rest-of-you. Also like crazy. ❤

Communicate With Your Pack!

