Posted on

Homer Simpson, the Dowager Countess of Grantham, and Other Roller Derby Inspirations

Yesterday’s practice was faboo. Morty coached, and we had what I thought was a solid turnout for a holiday. We worked on form, agility, walls, and assists; poor Sheri got stuck with me on the “take turns pushing your partner” drill, which really isn’t fair to her because she’s a willowy, light skater, and I’m… not. *grins* She was a trooper, though, and we had a lot of fun launching each other around the track.

I don’t know if there was just a collective good mood in the air or what, but we were very silly yesterday. It was funsies. Morty’s practices are always enjoyable, but somehow, we managed to amp up the shenanigans. There was a lot of chatting and giggling and making goofy faces. At one point, Morty taunted us that she was going faster backwards than we were going forwards, so I skated up to her all COME AT ME BRO (which was dumber’n a bag of hammers, in retrospect, but no one ever accused me of doing roller derby because of my excess of good judgment). Morty cracked up and was all GET BACK WITH YOUR PACK and I was all

It was pretty great.

Unrelatedly, from now on, I’m going to picture Disapproving Dowager Countess of Grantham any time I feel lousy on the track:

One response to “Homer Simpson, the Dowager Countess of Grantham, and Other Roller Derby Inspirations

  1. Oh holy freaking cats, that mental image of the Dowager Countess is SOOOO perfectly what I needed to see. I think I will do the same. Straight-up astronaut.

Communicate With Your Pack!

